Cricket 3 years ago

ECB Announce 13-man Squad for 1st Ashes Test

  • ECB Announce 13-man Squad for 1st Ashes Test

The ECB today announced a 13-man squad for the 1st Ashes Test starting on 8th July at The SWALEC Stadium in Cardiff.

Adil Rashid and Steven Finn have been handed England call-ups with the former still uncapped in Test Cricket and the latter being recalled after a long absence. The rest of the squad is the same as the one that featured in the test series against New Zealand with seven players playing a home Ashes series for the first time in their careers. 

You might also like

National selector, James Whitaker, said: “There are no huge surprises in the squad. Adil Rashid’s inclusion provides Alastair and Trevor with plenty of bowling options and the surface at Cardiff will dictate who makes the final XI.

“Within the squad there are players who have plenty of experience of Ashes cricket and that knowledge will I’m sure be useful for the players who are yet to experience a home Ashes series.

“There has been some very good cricket played so far this summer and we are aware that we will need to build on that over the next seven weeks if we are to win back the Ashes.

“On behalf of the selectors I’d like to congratulate the 13 players selected for the first Investec Test and wish them as well as Trevor all the very best for what will I’m sure be a very competitive and entertaining series.”

Alastair Cook (Essex)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

James Anderson (Lancashire)

Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)

Ian Bell (Warwickshire)

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

Mark Wood (Durham)

0 0
please wait...