Cricket 3 years ago

Lancashire Lightning win the NatWest T20 Blast

  • Lancashire Lightning win the NatWest T20 Blast

Lancashire Lightning were crowned the English T20 Champions as they beat Northamptonshire Steelbacks by 13 runs to secure their first piece of limited overs silverware since 1999. 

Having eased past a strong team as Hampshire, the Lancs had a tough task on their hand in the form of the Northants, who themselves were on a roll, thanks to their, and soon-to-be Yorkshire's superstar David Willey, who rose to the big occasion yet again, Birmingham Bears being on the receiving end. 

Batting first, Lancashire started to smoke the Bears to all parts of the ground with Ashwell Prince (43) and Alex Davies (47) putting 77 runs for the first wicket, before a collapse followed to leave the Roses at 130/6, Jos Buttler (27) the only one to make a meaningful contribution.

Aaron Lilley, however, ensured that Shahid Afridi - who claimed Buttler and Prince in consecutive balls - didn't rip through the whole Lancashire line-up, hitting 22 off 17 deliveries to take the score to 165. 

Northants turn it was then to take the willow, and they ensured there was no letting their opponents off the hook, as they cruised to 48/0 inside the powerplay, only to lose two quick wickets, namely Richard Levi and David Willey to James Faulkner's brilliance. 

Wickets continued to fall for the former T20 Champs and they now found themselves at 81/4 in the 12th over with a mountain still to climb. Shahid Afridi (26) - who was having a good finals day thus far - and Josh Cobb (44)* now began to attack in typical fashion, bringing up a half-century stand in no time. 

Though, as often is the case in finals, the game took a turn again, and Afridi was walking back to leave his side at 133/5 and 33 runs still required in just under three overs. 

Some good death bowling thereafter by Gavin Griffiths and company was always enough to make sure that Lancashire Lighting had the trophy in their bag. 

0 0
please wait...